J2: The Happiness Jar

I have a Happiness Jar. I found this idea on Pinterest last year and decided to put it into practice in 2017. For the first few months I diligently and eagerly wrote down the things that happened that made me happy, things such as creating my blog, publishing my first post, my first like, my first positive comment, Thomas learning to ride a bike, a good lunch with my mother, talking to a close and important friend. It all went swimmingly and I derived great pleasure from jotting down the little things that brightened my day. In those short, dark, winter months I certainly needed the encouragement. I do not do well in winter: too cold, too grey, too enclosed; focusing on the positives helped my mood. I encouraged Tom to do the same and we both had fun posting our little coloured Post-It notes into the jar.

But then I started to forget to note those moments that made me smile. Life became more intense and the happiness was too fleeting and ephemeral to note. Those good things that did happen, I blogged about them rather than putting them in the jar. I got swallowed up in the doing and forgot to appreciate the experience. It’s easy to become blind to the small, good things when you’re focusing on the bigger picture, on wants and needs and plans for the future. Yet everyday life consists of the little things, the blink-and-you’ll-miss-them moments, and that’s where the true happiness lies. That’s where you find contentment.

If you focus only on the Big Stuff you will forget those precious, small flashes of Good. I don’t want to forget the little things. At the moment, the little things are all I have. I don’t want to look back on this year and make the mistake of thinking that nothing good or noteworthy happened. The flavour is in the minutiae and I want to savour it. I want to be grateful and remember what a good life I have.

We are entering the second half of the year, there is still time to fill the jar with the good things of 2017. I will start again, I will start today. I will look back over the last few months and recall the happinesses, the things I gave thanks for. I will keep the Post-It pad and a pen next to the jar and I will move them into a more prominent place so that I don’t forget them again. Then, at the end of the year, I will open that jar and Thomas and I will read back through all those precious, little moments and remember what a good year 2017 was. We will enjoy remembering.

Why don’t you give it a try and let us know how it goes?

 

  Featured image via Pinterest

One thought on “J2: The Happiness Jar

Add yours

  1. Great idea! It is easy to lose sight of the small pleasure trees in the forrest stressful life. Something like Ben running up & down the hall singing the chorus of a song at top volume is a memory that will always make me smile! Great post my friend!!💐💖👏😁😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

